Are you being loved correctly?

See the source image

So, Valentine’s day is over, but we are still in a period of love. Valentines day is mostly about receiving gifts, quality time and words of affirmation, so with that being said, do you know what your love language is?

There are 5 love languages which has been written in a book released in 1995 by Gary Chapman. It outlines the 5 ways to express and experience love.

These are

  1. Receiving gifts
  2. Quality Time
  3. Words of Affirmation
  4. Acts of Service
  5. Physical Touch

According to the book, most people have a primary and secondary love language, and everybody need to fulfil theirs and their partners emotional love tank.

So, here is a mini breakdown of what each love language means

  1. Receiving Gifts – This one is self-explanatory, but the act of love is about taking the time to pick and find the right gift.g. A new pair of trainers for bae or bae’s favourite flowers.
  2. Quality Time – This one is about giving your undivided attention and being emotionally present, listening and communicating. E.g. A weekend away with the babes or talking with bae for half an hour.
  3. Words of Affirmation – This one is all about showing encouragement, uplifting and motivation through words. E.g. ‘Wow, this food is fantastic babe.’ ‘This is a sweet one still’.
  4. Acts of Service – This one is doing a favour or errand or something without expecting anything in return. E.g. Buying new bulbs if bae has run out, washing the car or setting the dinner table.
  5. Physical Touch – This one is all about feeling the babes/baby boy. E.g. Holding hands, running your hand through your hair, giving a back rub or sex.

Understanding your partners, or your parents love language is important cause you might think you aren’t getting love but maybe you aren’t catering to their love language. Like for example, I don’t hug family or friends, but I would rather pick up and drop my friends or family home as my love language is act of service. However just because I don’t hug my family or friends doesn’t mean I don’t love them, I would try to hug more to cater to their love language and hugs are alright, I guess.

If you want to take a test to find out you/your partners love language – you can go here or here

Chapman says, “Love is a decision, not a feeling” and you need to make that decision daily to love your significant other or maybe you have to consider the status of your relationship. So, I ask again – are you being loved correctly?

Peace until next time,

This Girl Can Write, A

(Visited 31 times, 1 visits today)


  1. ladylebz 18/02/2019 at 9:22 pm

    Love the quote “Love is a decision, not a feeling”… So true!

  2. Sanyukta Thakare 23/02/2019 at 4:50 am

    This was a very helpful post. And I loved reading it. People usually tend to not talk about individual love languages! ♥️
    Thank you

    1. thisgirlcanwritea 23/02/2019 at 10:56 am

      Aww thanks for reading the post and you are more than welcome. Do you know what your love language is?

  3. preudoh 23/02/2019 at 6:18 am

    Pretty good post. I love the ‘Quality’ in the time. Very superb, it keeps the love stronger

    1. thisgirlcanwritea 23/02/2019 at 10:57 am

      It really does, mine love language isn’t Quality Time but who doesn’t like spending time with that special someone!

  4. Nelly 23/02/2019 at 8:04 am

    I think my love language is acts of service. When someone helps or does something for me, it makes me feel like im thought of and cared for.

    1. thisgirlcanwritea 23/02/2019 at 10:57 am

      Same here, acts of service is such a nice gesture and makes life a little easier! Have a great weekend!

  5. Pingback: You Cannot Pour From An Empty Cup….. – ThisGirlCanWriteA

Leave A Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *